A member of the Assembly receives \$4,000 for each regular session attended by him and an additional \$2,000 tax-free for travelling and other expenses incurred in attending a session and representing his district. In addition the Premier receives a salary of \$10,000, a Cabinet Minister \$6,000 and a Minister without portfolio \$3,600. The Speaker of the Assembly is paid an additional indemnity of \$1,000 and his tax-free allowance is increased by \$500 for each session; higher sessional indemnities and allowances are also available to the Deputy Speaker in the amounts of \$600 and \$300, respectively, and to the Leader of the Opposition in the amounts of \$2,000 and \$1,000. All indemnities and allowances accrue from the date of election to the legislature and are paid monthly. No sessional indemnity or expenses are paid for any special session of the Legislature.

The Executive Council of Prince Edward Island as at December 31, 1973

Premier and Minister of Agriculture and Forestry, Hon, Alexander B. Campbell

President of the Executive Council, Minister of Justice, Attorney and Advocate General and Provincial Secretary, Hon. Gordon L. Bennett Minister of Public Works and Highways, Hon.

George J. Ferguson

Minister of Finance, Hon. T. Earle Hickey Minister of Industry and Commerce and Minister of Development, Hon. John H. Maloney

Minister of Health, Minister of Social Services and Minister of Labour, Hon. Bruce L. Stewart Minister of the Environment and Tourism and

Minister of Community Services, Hon. William Gallant

Minister of Fisheries, Hon. Robert E. Campbell Minister of Education, Hon. Bennett Campbell

Minister without portfolio and Minister responsible for the PEI Housing Authority, Hon. Jean Canfield.

3.3.1.3 Nova Scotia

The government of Nova Scotia consists of a Lieutenant Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly. Since October 1, 1973 the Honourable Clarence L. Gosse has been Lieutenant Governor. The Legislature has 46 members elected for a maximum term of five years. On October 13, 1970, 23 Liberals, 21 Progressive Conservatives and two New Democrats were elected to the province's 50th Legislature and 27th since Confederation.

The Premier of the province receives a salary of \$18,500 per annum and each Cabinet Minister a salary of \$16,500 per annum. Each member of the House of Assembly is paid a sessional indemnity of \$5,000 and an allowance of \$2,500 for expenses incidental to the discharge of his duties. The Leader of the Opposition receives an allowance of \$16,500 in addition to his sessional indemnity.

The Executive Council of Nova Scotia as at December 31, 1973

Premier and Chairman of the Nova Scotia Power Corporation, Hon. Gerald A. Regan

Minister of Finance and Chairman of the Treasury Board, Hon. Peter M. Nicholson

Provincial Secretary, Minister of Recreation and Minister in charge of administration of the Residential Tenancies Act, Hon. A. Garnet Brown

Minister of Highways and Minister of Mines, Hon. Leonard L. Pace

Minister of Public Works, Hon. Benoit Comeau Minister of Education, Hon. J. William Gillis

Attorney General, Minister in charge of administration of the Civil Service Act and the Civil Service Joint Council Act and Minister in charge of administration of the Human Rights Act, Hon. Allan E. Sullivan

Minister of Public Health, Minister of Labour and Minister in charge of administration of the Hous-

ing Development Act, Hon. D. Scott MacNutt Minister of Municipal Affairs and Minister in charge of administration of the Liquor Control Act, Hon. J. Fraser Mooney

Minister of the Environment, Minister of Tourism and Minister in charge of administration of the Emergency Measures Organization (NS) Act and Regulations, Hon. Glen M. Bagnell

Minister of Lands and Forests, Hon. Maurice E. DeLory

Minister of Agriculture and Marketing, Hon. John Hawkins

Minister of Development, Hon. George M. Mitchell

Minister of Social Services, Hon. Harold M. Huskilson

Minister of Fisheries, Hon. Alexander M. Cameron.

3.3.1.4 New Brunswick

The government of New Brunswick has a Lieutenant Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The Honourable H.J. Robichaud, sworn in October 8, 1971, is the present Lieutenant Governor. The Legislature elected October 26, 1970 is the 47th in New Brunswick's history and the 20th since Confederation. It has 58 members, at present 32